Skip to content

Biology Graduate Students

Abstract

We are pleased you decided to visit us, and hope you might come in person sometime soon. Our department is friendly and attentive to students' needs, and it is easy to get acquainted with other students, staff, and faculty.

Top Navigation

Main Navigation

  • EWU Home
  • College of Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics
  • Departments
  • Biology
  • Biology Graduate Students
  • Main Content

    For additional information about the graduate program, please click on the link below:

    Graduate Program

     

    Veronica Albrecht

    Graduate Student - Castillo's Lab
    291 SCI
    Email: veronicaalbrecht@eagles.ewu.edu

    Ethan Bean

    Graduate Student - Brown's Lab
    245 SCI
    Email: ebean2@eagles.ewu.edu

    Christopher Brady

    Graduate Student - O'Connell's Lab
    Email: cbrady@eagles.ewu.edu

    I am currently measuring the owl species richness and abundance on TNWR using autonomous digital recorders in non-commercially thinned treatment areas.


    Anwar Bushnaq

    Graduate Student - McNeely's Lab
    SCI 275
    Email: abushnaq@eagles.ewu.edu

    Philip Campos

    Graduate Student - Walke's Lab
    289 SCI
    Email: pcampos1@eagles.ewu.edu

    Josh Chastek

    Graduate Student - Herr's Lab
    SCI 237
    Email: jmchastek@eagles.ewu.edu

    Jade Clinkenbeard

    Graduate Student - J Matos' Lab
    240 SCI
    Email: jade.clinkenbeard@eagles.ewu.edu

    Lily Crytser

    Graduate Student - Spruell & Black's Lab
    190 SCI
    Email: lcrytser@eagles.ewu.edu

    Justin Donahue

    Graduate Student - Magori's Lab
    210 CNH
    Email: jdonahue1@ewu.edu

    I graduated with a B.S. in Biology and also a B.S. in Environmental Science from EWU in 2016. My research is focused on ticks and the potential presence of the bacteria Rickettsia rickettsii at Turnbull National Wildlife Refuge. I hope to create a GIS based model to show tick density and potential infection risk within the refuge. 

    Shelby Fettig

    Graduate Student - Walke's Lab
    289 SCI
    Email: sfettig@eagles.ewu.edu

    Brandon Flatgard

    Graduate Student - Castillo's Lab
    291 SCI
    Email: bflatgard@eagles.ewu.edu

    Amber Framstad

    Graduate Student - Ashley's Lab
    238 SCI
    Email: framstad2@eagles.ewu.edu

    Darren Ginder

    Graduate Student - Daberkow's Lab
    189 SCI
    Email: dginder@eagles.ewu.edu

    I received my B.A. in Behavioral Neuroscience with a minor in Chemistry from Western Washington University in 2015. While studying for my Bachelor's Degree I discovered my love for research and my desire to continue in academia. I work in Dr. Daberkow's lab studying the role of dopamine on behavior through the use of voltammetric methods. My graduate work is centered around how changes in reward seeking behavior is influenced by dopamine neurotransmission.

    Amy Joy Hess

    Graduate Student - O'Quinn's Lab
    242 SCI
    Email: amyhess@eagles.ewu.edu

    Coty Jasper

    Graduate Student - Spruell's lab
    190 SCI
    Email: cjasper@ewu.edu

    My name is Coty Jasper and I am a graduate student in the fisheries laboratory. I plan to study the genetics of brook stickleback in the Turnbull national wildlife refuge to see if there is a genetic component that correlates to an increased fitness of any one family of stickleback. 

    Katie Johnson

    Graduate Student - L Matos' Lab
    293 SCO
    Email: kjohnson81@eagles.ewu.edu

    Abigail Keever

    Graduate Student - Ashley's lab
    238 SCI
    Email: akeever@ewu.edu

    In 2017, I graduated summa cum laude with a Bachelor of Science in Biology from Eastern Washington University. My background in general dentistry and orthognathic surgery contributed significantly to my desire to study disease, with a concentration in Cell and Molecular Biology. I enjoy studying signal transduction pathways, anomalies within such pathways, and how they relate to the initiation and progression of disease. My project examines how alternative glycosylation of transmembrane and soluble proteins are influenced by cellular differentiation and sex-specific gene expression. After I graduate with a Master of Science, I intend to apply to doctorate programs and eventually continue research in industry.

    Jared Lamm

    Graduate Student - Bastow and Brown's lab
    SCI 245
    Email: jlamm@ewu.edu

    I am interested in the interactions taking place in semi-arid grasslands between native and invasive grasses, soil microbial communities, and soil elemental composition. My previous studies suggest that Ventenata dubia is altering soil food webs and negatively impacting future plant growth. My research will focus on identifying the aspects responsible for these impacts.

    Email: jlamm@ewu.edu

    Website: jlamm02.wixsite.com\jaredlamm

     

    Taylor Mauzy

    Graduate Student - L Matos' Lab
    293 SCI
    Email: tmauzy@eagles.ewu.edu

    Marissa Medina

    Graduate Student - Bastow's lab
    235 SCI
    Email: mmedina4@ewu.edu

    I received my B.S. in Biology at EWU in 2016, focusing on wildlife studies. As a graduate student, I am now focusing on topics in soil ecology. Specifically, I am interested in the effects of warming on soil organic carbon and soil biodiversity in wetlands at Turnbull National Wildlife Refuge. In the future, I would like to work in conservation and restoration biology.

    Erik Peterson

    Graduate Student - Brown's Lab
    245 SCI
    Email: epeterson9@eagles.ewu.edu

    Christina Ramelow

    Graduate Student - Daberkow's Lab
    189 SCI
    Email: cramelow@eagles.ewu.edu

    Ronald Scerbicke

    Graduate Student - Black's Lab
    252 SCI
    Email: rscerbicke@eagles.ewu.edu

    Lacey Sell

    Graduate Student - Ochoa Reparaz' Lab
    295 SCI
    Email: laceysell@eagles.ewu.edu

    Shawna Warehime

    Graduate Student - Spruell and McNeely's Lab
    190 SCI
    Email: sbwarehime@eagles.ewu.edu

    Joseph Weirich

    Graduate Student - Brown's Lab
    245 SCI
    Email: jweirich@eagles.ewu.edu

    Alexa Whipple

    Graduate Student - Brown's lab
    245 SCI
    Email: awhipple2@ewu.edu

    My interests bring together innovative sustainable agriculture practices, restoration of public range lands to address climate change resilience and local food/economic system security.  I am working with regional land managers and local livestock producers to advance the use of sustainable grazing practices on public lands.  My focus is particularly narrowed in on wildfire impacted riparian areas, the presence of beavers and the grazing management practices applied to sensitive riparian zones after fire. 

    Contact Information

    Department of Biology
    258 Science Building
    Cheney, WA 99004

    email: biology@ewu.edu
    phone: 509.359.2339

    Footer Navigation


    Text Only Options

    View the desktop version of this page.