Skip to content

Biology Graduate Students

Abstract

We are pleased you decided to visit us, and hope you might come in person sometime soon. Our department is friendly and attentive to students' needs, and it is easy to get acquainted with other students, staff, and faculty.

Top Navigation

Main Navigation

  • EWU Home
  • College of Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics
  • Programs of Study
  • Biology
  • Biology Graduate Students
  • Main Content

    For additional information about the graduate program, please click on the link below:

    Graduate Program

     

    Sultan Areshi

    Graduate Student - McNeely's Lab
    SCI 275
    Email: sareshi@eagles.ewu.edu

    Christopher Baber

    Graduate Student - Castillo's Lab
    SCI 291
    Email: cbaber@ewu.edu

    Christopher Brady

    Graduate Student - O'Connell's Lab
    Email: cbrady@eagles.ewu.edu

    I am currently measuring the owl species richness and abundance on TNWR using autonomous digital recorders in non-commercially thinned treatment areas.


    Josh Chastek

    Graduate Student - Herr's Lab
    SCI 237
    Email: jmchastek@eagles.ewu.edu

    Carolyn Connelly

    Grraduate Student - McNeely's Lab
    Email: carolync@eagles.ewu.edu

    Kaeli Davenport

    Graduate Student - Spruell, J Matos, Herr Labs
    SCI 190
    Email: kdavenport@eagles.ewu.edu

    Derek Entz

    Graduate Student - O'Connell, Brown Labs
    SCI 272
    Email: derek.entz@eagles.ewu.edu

    I received my BA in Environmental Science from Simpson College, Iowa in 2014. While at Simpson College, during summers, I worked for the Pend Oreille Public Utility District where most of my work was focused on stream restoration for native trout species; specifically, Bull (Salvelinus confluentus) and Westslope cutthroat trout (Oncorhynchus clarki lewisi).  Currently I am pursuing my Master's in Biology at Eastern Washington University.  

     

    Savannah Garcia

    Graduate Student - Castillo's Lab
    SCI 291
    Email: scastillo1@ewu.edu

    Samuel Gunselman

    Graduate Student - Spruell's Lab
    SCI 190
    Email: sgunselman@ewu.edu

    Emily Hendrix

    Graduate Student - L Matos' Lab
    SCI 293
    Email: emily.hendrix@eagles.ewu.edu

    I have just graduated with a degree in Biology with an emphasis in Molecular Biotechnology and a minor in Chemistry at Eastern Washington University. I am continuing my scholarly and professional relationships through Molecular Biology graduate studies at EWU. I am extremely interested in viral genome studies, hoping to work in biodefense with BSL 3&4 organisms.

    Amy Joy Hess

    Graduate Student - O'Quinn's Lab
    SCI 242
    Email: amyhess@eagles.ewu.edu

    Chantilly Higbee

    Graduate Student - J. Matos' Lab
    SCI 240
    Email: chigbee@ewu.edu

    My research interests are in aquatic toxicology. I am interested in the relationships between environmental contaminants and invertebrate physiology, and in the use of invertebrates as biomonitors in impacted ecosystems. My thesis research involves studying the patterns of amphipod (Hyalella azteca) abundance and metal burden in the contaminated Coeur d'Alene (CdA) chain lakes and testing the stress and tolerance of CdA amphipods to trace metal and thermal stresses.

    Sarah Hindle

    Graduate Student - McNeely's Lab
    SCI 275
    Email: shindle@eagles.ewu.edu

    My name is Sarah Hindle. Im originally from Brooklyn, New York, and then moved to Syracuse. There, I got my bachelor's degree in Aquatics and Fisheries Science from the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry. I am also a SEA Semester alum. 

    Currently, I am a Masters student with Dr. Camille McNeely, where I study larval recruitment of white sturgeon in Lake Roosevelt, WA.

    Shelby Hunter

    Graduate Student - O'Connell's Lab
    SCI 272
    Email: shunter@eagles.ewu.edu

    Wendall Kane

    Graduate Student - Bastow's Lab
    SCI 235
    Email: wkane@eagles.ewu.edu

    Trevor Kirby

    Graduate Student - Ochoa Reparaz's Lab
    SCI 289
    Email: trevor.kirby@eagles.ewu.edu

    Olivia Morgan

    Graduate Student - Brown's Lab
    SCI 245
    Email: omorgan@eagles.ewu.edu

    Henry Price

    Graduate Student - McNeely's Lab
    SCI 275
    Email: hprice@eagles.ewu.edu

    Chelan Rogers

    Graduate Student - Black lab
    Email: chelan.rogers@eagles.ewu.edu

    I received my BS in Biology from Utah State University in 2013. My previous research experience includes working with insect biocontrol in both agricultural and non-agricultural settings, invasive species of lady bird beetles, and vegetation surveys to monitor bee habitat. I am primarily interested in evolutionary ecology, particularly in invertebrate systems.  My thesis project involves phenotypic plasticity of Daphnia pulex in multi-predator systems. Specifically, I am interested in applying the well-studied phenomenon of necktooth induction via Chaoborus kairomone into an ecological context.

    Robert Shadix

    Graduate Student - Magori's Lab
    SCI 272
    Email: rshadix@ewu.edu

    Steven Smith

    Graduate Student - Matos' Lab
    SCI 293

    Cody Thomas

    Graduate Student - Brown's Lab
    SCI 245
    Email: cody.c.thomas99@eagles.ewu.edu

    Morgan Thomas

    Graduate Student - Castillo, Daberkow, Matos' Lab
    SCI 291
    Email: mpowell12@ewu.edu

     I completed my BS degree in Physiology at the University of Washington in 2013. After working at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle for two years I returned home to eastern Washington to pursue my Masters of Science in Biology here at EWU. I am working in Dr. Daberkow's lab studying effects of treatment for PTSD and related treatments on reward seeking behavior and dopamine signaling.

    Shawna Warehime

    Graduate Student - Spruell and McNeely's Lab
    SCI 190
    Email: sbwarehime@eagles.ewu.edu

    Bryan Witte

    Graduate Student - Spruell's Lab
    SCI 190
    Email: bwitte@ewu.edu

    Contact Information

    Department of Biology
    258 Science Building
    Cheney, WA 99004

    email: biology@ewu.edu
    phone: 509.359.2339

    Footer Navigation


    Text Only Options

    View the desktop version of this page.