Skip to content

Faculty Directory

Abstract

We are pleased you decided to visit us, and hope you might come in person sometime soon. Our department is friendly and attentive to students' needs, and it is easy to get acquainted with other students, staff, and faculty.

Top Navigation

Main Navigation

  • EWU Home
  • College of Science Health and Engineering
  • Programs of Study
  • Mathematics
  • Faculty Directory
  • Main Content

     Kingston Hall

    The Department of Mathematics resides on the first two floors of Kingston Hall located on the corner of 5th Street and C-Street in Cheney, WA.
     

    Dr. Keith Adolphson

    Associate Professor (2002...)
    Kingston 329
    Phone: 509.359.6066
    Email: kadolphson@ewu.edu

    B.A., Distributive Science with Biology emphasis (1977), Gustavus Adolphus College
    M.S., National Security Affairs - Technical Intelligence (1990), Naval Postgraduate School
    M.A., National Security Affairs - Strategic Planning (1990), Naval Postgraduate School
    Ph.D., Instructional Leadership & Academic Curriculum/Mathematics Education (2002), University of Oklahoma
    Mathematics Education:  K-8 Mathematics Teaching & Learning, Discourse, Technology

    Dr. Barbara Alvin

    Professor & Department Chair (1983...)
    Kingston 213
    Phone: 509.359.2203
    Email: balvin@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    A.B., Spanish, Miami University, Oxford OH (1974).
    M.S. Mathematics (1976); M.S., Statistics (1976), Miami University, Oxford, OH.
    Ph.D., Bio statistics, University of Washington (1983).
    Bio statistics; Health science statistics/Specialty is serving as a connection between users of statistics & statistical theory.

    Mr. Anthony Baraconi

    Developmental Math ALEKS Lab Services Manager (2012...)
    Monroe 302
    Phone: 509.359.2281
    Email: abaraconi53@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    B.A. (2010) & M.S. (2012), Mathematics, Eastern Washington University

    Mr. Rick Biggerstaff

    Lecturer (2013...)
    KGS 302
    Phone: 509.350.2780
    Email: rbiggers@ewu.edu

    B.A., Secondary Mathematics  (1987) & M.S., Mathematics (1994), Eastern Washington University
    Current Washington State Teaching Certificate for Secondary Mathematics
              with endorsements in Physics & Computer Programing

    Dr. Joy Bjerke

    Lecturer (2012...)
    Kingston 112
    Phone: 509.359.4272
    Email: jbjerke2@ewu.edu

    BA & MA, Mathematics, California State University, Fresno
    Ed D, Educational Leadership, University of La Verne

    Dr. Louis Blair

    Lecturer & Actuarial Science Advisor (2007...)
    Kingston 107
    Phone: 509.359.6070
    Email: lblair@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    B.S., Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1976)
    M.S., Mathematics, University of Illinois (1982)
    Ph.D., Mathematics, Carnegie Mellon University (1991)

    Ms. Katie Campbell

    Interim Mathematics Specialist/TRIO Mathematics Lab Manager (2013...)
    TRIO Math Lab, Kingston 117B
    Phone: 509.359.7392
    Email: kcampbell84@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    B.A. (2010) & M.S. (2013), Mathematics, Eastern Washington University

    Dr. Daniel Canada

    Professor (2003...)
    Email: dcanada@ewu.edu
    Website: http://mathaction.wikispaces.com/Homepage
    B.S., Mathematics, Biola University, California (1988).
    M.S., Mathematics & Teaching Cert., Western Washington University (1994).
    Ph.D., Mathematics Education, Portland State University (2004).
    Fullbright Scholar Research in Tanzania, South Africa (2009-2010)
    Mathematics Education:  Understanding variance

    Dr. Carlos Castillo-Garsow

    Assistant Professor (2013...)
    Kingston 106
    Phone: 509.359.6946
    Email: ccastillogarsow@ewu.edu

    B.S., Biometry & Statistics, Cornell University (2003)
    M.A., Linguistics, State University of New York--Buffalo (2006)
    Ph.D., Mathematics, Arizona State University (2010)

    Dr. Jackie Coomes

    Lecturer (1999-2005) & Associate Professor (2005...)
    Kingston 312
    Phone: 509.359.4232
    Email: jcoomes@ewu.edu
    B.S., Mathematics, University of California, Davis (1993).
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (1998).
    Ph.D., Mathematics Education, Washington State University (2006).
    Mathematics Education: Relationships Between Community, Interactions, and Ways of Knowing In College Precalculus Classes

    Mr. Raymond Dempsey

    Lecturer (2013...)
    Kingston 201
    Phone: 509.359.4314
    Email: rdempsey1@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    B.S., Mathematics, Universaity of Wisconsin--Green Bay (2008)
    M.S., Mathematics, University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee (2013)
    Algebra, Analysis, & Mathematics Education

    Dr. Diane Dowd

    Professor (1995...)
    Kingston 108
    Phone: 509.359.2876
    Email: ddowd@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    B.A., Elementary Education, Asbury College, Kentucky (1977).
    M.A., Mathematics Education, California State University, Sacramento (1982).
    Ph.D., Mathematics Education, Washington State University (1995).
    Mathematics education: (1) Teaching and learning K-8 content, (2) Understanding of teacher education candidates (K-8) 

    Mr. Anthony Frenk

    Lecturer (2013...)
    Kingston 308
    Phone: 509.359.2790
    Email: afrenk05@ewu.edu
    B.S., Mathematics (2011) & M.S., Applied Mathematics (2013), Eastern Washington University

    Dr. Dale Garraway

    Associate Professor (2003...)
    Kingston 307
    Phone: 509.359.6072
    Email: dgarraway@ewu.edu
    B.S., Mathematics, Simon Fraser University, (1996)
    M.S., (1997); Ph.D., (2002) Mathematics, Dalhousie University
    Category Theory, Graph Theory

    Dr. Ron Gentle

    Professor (1990...)
    Kingston 212
    Phone: 509.359.6478
    Email: rgentle@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    B.S., Mathematics, University of Toronto (1976).
    M.S., (1978); Ph.D (1982), Mathematics, University of British Columbia.
    Abelian category theory; Ring theory, Representation theory of artin algebras.

    Mr. David Goering

    Senior Lecturer (1990...)
    Kingston 210
    Phone: 509.359.6858
    Email: dgoering@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    B.A., Mathematics, Kansas University (1977)
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (1990)
    Geometry & Probability

    Ms. Melissa Graham

    Senior Lecturer & Director of Mathematics Tutoring Lab
    Kingston 105
    Phone: 509.359.2541
    Email: melissa.graham@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    B.A.E., Secondary Mathematics & B.A., Physics, Eastern Washington University (2002)
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2004)

    Mr. Michael Graham

    Senior Lecturer (2000...)
    Kingston 109
    Phone: 509.359.6076
    Email: mgraham@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    B.A. (1991) & M.S. (1993), Mathematics, Eastern Washington University.
    The inverse problem of Galois theory.

    Dr. Christian K. Hansen

    Associate Dean of Computing and Engineering Sciences and Professor (1993...)
    Kingston 208
    Phone: 509.359.6068
    Email: chansen@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    M.S., Electrical Engineering (1988); Ph.D., Statistics (1991), Technical University of Denmark.
    Reliability theory; Statistical process control, experimental design.
    Industrial applications of statistics.

    Ms. Jane Lane

    Senior Lecturer and APTP Mathematics Placement Test Coordinator
    Kingston 101
    Phone: 509.359.4311
    Email: jlane@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    B.A., Romance Linguistics, University of Washington (1974).
    M.S., Mathematics Education, Montana State University (1998).
    Mathematics Education: 9-12.

    Dr. Hyung Sook Lee

    Assistant Professor (2008...)
    Kingston 209
    Phone: 509.359.2894
    Email: hslee@ewu.edu
    B.S., Mathematics Education, Seoul National University (1988).
    M.S., Mathematics, KAIST (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology) (1990).
    Ph.D., Mathematics Education, University of Georgia (2008).
    Secondary Mathematics Teaching Certificate (7-12).

    Mr. Jim Leigh

    Lecturer (2012...)
    Kingston 103
    Phone: 509.359.7412
    Email: jleigh2@ewu.edu

    B.S., Mathematics, University of Washington (1968)
    M.S.N.S., Mathematics, Seattle University (1973)

    Mr. Peter Lowe

    Lecturer (2012...)
    Kingston 115
    Phone: 509.359.6232
    Email: plowe@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    B.A.E., Secondary Mathematics (2002) & M.S., College Instruction/Mathematics (2005), Eastern Washington University

    Dr. Frank Lynch

    Assistant Professor (2013...)
    Kingston 311
    Phone: 509.359.7067
    Email: lynch@ewu.edu
    Website: http://sites.ewu.edu/lynch/
    B.A., Mathematics & B.A., Physics, Magna Cum Laude, (1999), Linfield College
    M.S. (2001) & Ph.D. (2010)Mathematics, University of Utah

    Ms. Kelly Lynn

    Mathematics Specialist (2009-13) & Lecturer (2011...)
    Kingston 111
    Phone: 509.359.2251
    Email: klynn@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    B.A. (2006) & M.S. (2008), Mathematics, Eastern Washington University

    Ms. Rebecca Meyer

    Lecturer (2013...)
    Kingston 104
    Phone: 509.359.6729
    Email: meyerr@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    B.S., Mathematics, Whitworth University (2011)
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2013)

    Dr. Gayle Millsaps

    Assistant Professor (2013...)
    Kingston 110
    Phone: 509.359.6743
    Email: gmillsaps@ewu.edu

    B.A., English, University of Tennessee (1978)
    M.A., Mathematics (1989) & Ph.D., Mathematics Education (2005), The Ohio State University

    Mr. Christopher Mullins

    Lecturer (2013...)
    Kingston 202
    Phone: 509.359.6071
    Email: cmullins@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    B.S., Mathematics, Gonzaga University (2011)
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2013)

    Mr. Wade Neilson

    Lecturer (2013...)
    Kingston 102
    Phone: 509.359.4310
    Email: wneilson@ewu.edu

    B.A.E., Secondary Mathematics (2011) & M.A., Teaching K-9 Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2013)

    Dr. Yves Nievergelt

    Professor (1985...)
    Kingston 127
    Phone: 509.359.4259
    Email: ynievergelt@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    Diploma in Mathematics, Ecole Polytechnique, Switzerland (1976).
    Ph.D. & M.S., Mathematics - Several Complex Variables (1984); Ph.D., Mathematics - Several Complex Variables (1984), University of Washington.
    Applied analysis (mathematics applied to chemistry, medical diagnostic imaging, and physics), Complex analysis, and Numerical analysis (mathematics of scientific programming).

    Dr. Andrew Oster

    Assistant Professor (2013...)
    Kingston 309
    Phone: 509.359.6742
    Email: aoster@ewu.edu
    Website: https://sites.google.com/site/osteram/

    B.S., Mathematics & minor in Computer Science, Magna Cum Laude, (2000), Cal Poly
    M.S. (2002) & Ph.D. (2006), Mathematics, University of Utah

    Dr. Hugh Sullivan

    Professor (1967...)
    Kingston 207
    Phone: 509.359.6133
    Email: hsullivan@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    B.A., (1962) and M.A. (1964), Mathematics, University of Montana.
    Ph.D., Mathematics, Washington State University (1968).
    Mathematical Systems Theory & Topology.

    Dr. Elena Toneva

    Professor (2000...)
    Kingston 211
    Phone: 509.359.6073
    Email: etoneva@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    M.S., (1972); Ph.D., (1979), Mathematics, University of Sofia.
    Functional analysis and Harmonic analysis on abstract groups. 

    Contact Information

    Mathematics Department
    216 Kingston Hall
    Cheney, WA 99004

    email: mgrant@ewu.edu
    phone: 509.359.4315
    fax: 509.359.4700

    Footer Navigation


    Text Only Options

    View the original version of this page.