Skip to content

Faculty Directory

Abstract

We are pleased you decided to visit us, and hope you might come in person sometime soon. Our department is friendly and attentive to students' needs, and it is easy to get acquainted with other students, staff, and faculty.

Top Navigation

Main Navigation

  • EWU Home
  • College of Science Health and Engineering
  • Programs of Study
  • Mathematics
  • Faculty Directory
  • Main Content

     Kingston Hall

    The Department of Mathematics resides on the first two floors of Kingston Hall located on the corner of 5th Street and C-Street in Cheney, WA.
     

    Dr. Keith Adolphson

    Associate Professor of Mathematics Education (2002...)
    Kingston 329
    Phone: 509.359.6066
    Email: kadolphson@ewu.edu

    B.A., Distributive Science with Biology emphasis (1977), Gustavus Adolphus College
    M.S., National Security Affairs - Technical Intelligence (1990), Naval Postgraduate School
    M.A., National Security Affairs - Strategic Planning (1990), Naval Postgraduate School
    Ph.D., Instructional Leadership & Academic Curriculum/Mathematics Education (2002), University of Oklahoma
    Research Interests:  K-8 Mathematics Teaching & Learning, Discourse, Technology

    Mr. Ryan Allison

    TRiO Math Lab Coordinator & Lecturer (2013...)
    Kingston 101
    Phone: 509.359.4311

    Dr. Barbara Alvin

    Professor & Department Chair (1983...)
    Kingston 317
    Phone: 509.359.2203
    Email: balvin@ewu.edu

    A.B., Spanish, Miami University (1974).
    M.S., Mathematics & M.S., Statistics , Miami University (1976)
    Ph.D., Bio statistics, University of Washington (1983).
    Research Interests:  Bio statistics; Health science statistics/Specialty is serving as a connection between users of statistics & statistical theory.

    Dr. Louis Blair

    Lecturer & Actuarial Science Advisor (2007...)
    Kingston 107
    Phone: 509.359.6070
    Email: lblair@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    B.S., Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1976)
    M.S., Mathematics, University of Illinois (1982)
    Ph.D., Mathematics, Carnegie Mellon University (1991)

    Dr. Daniel Canada

    Professor of Mathematics Education (2003...)
    KGS 203
    Phone: 509.359.6074
    Email: dcanada@ewu.edu
    Website: http://mathaction.wikispaces.com/Homepage

    B.S., Mathematics, Biola University, California (1988).
    M.S., Mathematics & Teaching Cert., Western Washington University (1994).
    Ph.D., Mathematics Education, Portland State University (2004).
    Fullbright Scholar Research in Tanzania, South Africa (2009-2010)
    Research Interests: Understanding variance

    Dr. Carlos Castillo-Garsow

    Assistant Professor (2013...)
    Kingston 106
    Phone: 509.359.6946
    Email: ccastillogarsow@ewu.edu

    B.S., Biometry & Statistics, Cornell University (2003)
    M.A., Linguistics, State University of New York--Buffalo (2006)
    Ph.D., Mathematics, Arizona State University (2010)

    Dr. Jackie Coomes

    Lecturer (1999-2005) & Professor of Mathematics Education (2005...)
    Kingston 312
    Phone: 509.359.4232
    Email: jcoomes@ewu.edu

    B.S., Mathematics, University of California, Davis (1993).
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (1998).
    Ph.D., Mathematics Education, Washington State University (2006).
    Research Interests: Relationships Between Community, Interactions, and Ways of Knowing In College Precalculus Classes

    Mr. Raymond Dempsey

    Lecturer (2013...)
    Kingston 201
    Phone: 509.359.4314
    Email: rdempsey1@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    B.S., Mathematics, Universaity of Wisconsin--Green Bay (2008)
    M.S., Mathematics, University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee (2013)
    Algebra, Analysis, & Mathematics Education

    Dr. Diane Dowd

    Professor of Mathematics Education (1995...)
    Kingston 108
    Phone: 509.359.2876
    Email: ddowd@ewu.edu

    B.A., Elementary Education, Asbury College, Kentucky (1977).
    M.A., Mathematics Education, California State University, Sacramento (1982).
    Ph.D., Mathematics Education, Washington State University (1995).
    Research Interests: Teaching and learning K-8 content, Understanding of teacher education candidates (K-8) 

    Mr. Ryan Downie

    Quarterly Faculty (2013...)
    Kingston 306
    Phone: 509.359.4313
    Email: rdownie@ewu.edu

    B.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2011)
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2013)

    Mr. Anthony Frenk

    Lecturer (2013...)
    Kingston 308
    Phone: 509.359.2790
    Email: afrenk05@ewu.edu

    B.S., Mathematics , Eastern Washington University (2011)
    M.S., Applied Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2013)

    Dr. Dale Garraway

    Associate Professor of Mathematics (2003...)
    Kingston 307
    Phone: 509.359.6072
    Email: dgarraway@ewu.edu

    B.S., Mathematics, Simon Fraser University, (1996)
    M.S., Mathematics, Dalhousie University (1997)
    Ph.D., Mathematics, Dalhousie University (2002)
    Research Interests:  Category Theory, Graph Theory

    Dr. Ron Gentle

    Professor of Mathematics(1990...)
    Kingston 212
    Phone: 509.359.6478
    Email: rgentle@ewu.edu

    B.S., Mathematics, University of Toronto (1976).
    M.S., (1978); Ph.D (1982), Mathematics, University of British Columbia.
    Research Interests:  Abelian category theory; Ring theory, Representation theory of artin algebras.

    Mr. David Goering

    Senior Lecturer (1990...)
    Kingston 210
    Phone: 509.359.6858
    Email: dgoering@ewu.edu

    B.A., Mathematics, Kansas University (1977)
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (1990)
    Interests: Geometry & Probability

    Ms. Melissa Graham

    Senior Lecturer & Coordinator of RSHS (2004...)
    Kingston 105
    Phone: 509.359.2541
    Email: melissa.graham@ewu.edu

    B.A.E., Secondary Mathematics & B.A., Physics, Eastern Washington University (2002)
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2004)

    Mr. Michael Graham

    Senior Lecturer (2000...)
    Kingston 109
    Phone: 509.359.6076
    Email: mgraham@ewu.edu

    B.A., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (1991)
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (1993)
    Interests:  The inverse problem of Galois theory.

    Dr. Christian K. Hansen

    Associate Dean of Computing and Engineering Sciences and Professor of Statistics (1993...)
    Kingston 208
    Phone: 509.359.6068
    Email: chansen@ewu.edu

    M.S., Electrical Engineering, Technical University of Denmark (1988)
    Ph.D., Statistics, Technical University of Denmark (1991)
    Research Interests:  Reliability theory, statistical process control, experimental design, and industrial applications of statistics

    Dr. Hyung Sook Lee

    Associate Professor of Mathematics Education (2008...)
    Kingston 209
    Phone: 509.359.2894
    Email: hslee@ewu.edu
    B.S., Mathematics Education, Seoul National University (1988).
    M.S., Mathematics, KAIST (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology) (1990).
    Ph.D., Mathematics Education, University of Georgia (2008).
    Secondary Mathematics Teaching Certificate (7-12).

    Mr. Jim Leigh

    Lecturer (2012...)
    Kingston 103
    Phone: 509.359.7412
    Email: jleigh2@ewu.edu

    B.S., Mathematics, University of Washington (1968)
    M.S.N.S., Mathematics, Seattle University (1973)

    Mr. Peter Lowe

    Lecturer (2012...)
    Kingston 115
    Phone: 509.359.6232
    Email: plowe@ewu.edu

    B.A.E., Secondary Mathematics (2002), Eastern Washington University
    M.S., College Instruction/Mathematics (2005), Eastern Washington University

    Dr. Frank Lynch

    Assistant Professor of Mathematics (2013...)
    Kingston 311
    Phone: 509.359.7067
    Email: lynch@ewu.edu
    Website: http://sites.ewu.edu/lynch/

    B.A., Mathematics & B.A., Physics, Magna Cum Laude, Linfield College (1999)
    M.S., Mathematics, University of Utah (2001)
    Ph.D., Mathematics, University of Utah (2010)

    Ms. Kelly Lynn

    Mathematics Specialist (2009-13) & Lecturer (2011...)
    Kingston 111
    Phone: 509.359.2251
    Email: klynn@ewu.edu

    B.A., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2006)
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2008)

    Dr. Gayle Millsaps

    Assistant Professor of Mathematics Education (2013...)
    Kingston 110
    Phone: 509.359.6743
    Email: gmillsaps@ewu.edu

    B.A., English, University of Tennessee (1978)
    M.A., Mathematics , The Ohio State University (1989)
    Ph.D., Mathematics Education, The Ohio State University (2005)

    Mr. Christopher Mullins

    Lecturer (2013...)
    Kingston 202
    Phone: 509.359.6071
    Email: cmullins@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    B.S., Mathematics, Gonzaga University (2011)
    M.S., Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2013)

    Mr. Wade Neilson

    Lecturer (2013...)
    Kingston 102
    Phone: 509.359.4310
    Email: wneilson@ewu.edu

    B.A.E., Secondary Mathematics (2011), Eastern Washington University
    M.A., Teaching K-9 Mathematics, Eastern Washington University (2013)

    Dr. Yves Nievergelt

    Professor of Mathematics (1985...)
    Kingston 127
    Phone: 509.359.4259
    Email: ynievergelt@ewu.edu

    Diploma in Mathematics, Ecole Polytechnique, Switzerland (1976).
    Ph.D. & M.S., Mathematics - Several Complex Variables, University of Washington (1984)
    Research Interests:  Applied analysis (mathematics applied to chemistry, medical diagnostic imaging, and physics), Complex analysis, and Numerical analysis (mathematics of scientific programming).

    Mr. Timmy Noon

    Quarterly Faculty
    Kingston 302
    Phone: 509.359.2251
    Email: tnoon69@ewu.edu

    Dr. Andrew Oster

    Assistant Professor of Mathematics (2013...)
    Kingston 309
    Phone: 509.359.6742
    Email: aoster@ewu.edu
    Website: https://sites.google.com/site/osteram/

    B.S., Mathematics & minor in Computer Science, Magna Cum Laude, Cal Poly (2000)
    M.S., Mathematics, University of Utah (2002)
    Ph.D., Mathematics, University of Utah (2006)

    Mr. Seshu Rao

    Lecturer (2014...)
    Kingston 205
    Phone: 509.359.2780

    Dr. Kyle Riggs

    Lecturer (2014...)
    KGS 305
    Phone: 509.359.2744

    Ms. Olga Slyusareva

    Lecturer (2014...)
    Kingston 112
    Phone: 509.359.4272
    Email: oslyusareva@ewu.edu

    Ms. Diana Stuart

    Lecturer (2014...)
    Kingston 104
    Phone: 509.359.6729
    Email: dstuart@ewu.edu

    Dr. Hugh Sullivan

    Professor of Mathematics (1967...)
    Kingston 207
    Phone: 509.359.6133
    Email: hsullivan@ewu.edu

    B.A., Mathematics, University of Montana (1962)
    M.A., Mathematics, University of Montana 1964)
    Ph.D., Mathematics, Washington State University (1968)
    Research Interests:  Mathematical Systems Theory & Topology.

    Dr. Elena Toneva

    Professor of Mathematics (2000...)
    Kingston 211
    Phone: 509.359.6073
    Email: etoneva@ewu.edu

    M.S., Mathematics, University of Sofia (1972)
    Ph.D., Mathematics, University of Sofia (1979)
    Research Interests:  Functional analysis and Harmonic analysis on abstract groups. 

    Contact Information

    Mathematics Department
    216 Kingston Hall
    Cheney, WA 99004

    email: mgrant@ewu.edu
    phone: 509.359.4315
    fax: 509.359.4700

    Footer Navigation


    Text Only Options

    View the original version of this page.