Skip to content

Faculty

Abstract

Faculty

Top Navigation

Main Navigation

  • EWU Home
  • CSBSSW Home
  • Programs of Study
  • Social Work
  • Faculty
  • Main Content

    Below, you will find a listing of faculty for the school of Social Work. If you are unsure of whom to contact with your questions, please call the main office at 509.359.6482.

    Blake Beecher, PhD

    Associate Professor, Graduate Program Directror
    Senior Hall 310
    Phone: 509.359.4547
    Email: bbeecher@ewu.edu

    Blake Beecher joined the EWU School of Social Work in Fall 2008. He received his MSW from the University of Nevada, Reno, and PhD. from the University of Utah. His practice and research interests include: behavioral health and addictions, aging, international social work, medical social work, and research informed practice.

    Bipasha Biswas

    Assistant Professor
    324 Senior Hall
    Phone: (509)-359-7339
    Email: bbiswas@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    MSW Bombay University, PhD Washington University. Scholarly interests include epidemiology and etiology of risky sexual behaviors, HIV/AIDS prevention, and international social work.

    Sharon Bowland

    Associate Professor
    Senior Hall, 231
    Phone: 509-359-4584
    Email: sbowland@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Licensed Clinical Social Worker, PhD from Washington University in St. Louis, MSW from the University of Illinois at Chicago, Master's in Pastoral Studies (MPS) from Loyola University, Chicago. Her scholarly and research interests include behavioral health practice, trauma-informed interventions, aging, and spirituality. Sharon is a John A. Hartford Faculty Scholar in Social Work. In 2012 she was awarded a research grant to study the needs and concerns of older African-American women survivors of child abuse, sexual assault, and domestic violence over the life course.

    Lu Brown

    Senior Lecturer, Associate Director of Field
    Senior Hall 114
    Phone: 509.359.6425
    Email: lbrown@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Senior Lecturer, Associate Director of Field Education. MSW Eastern Washington University. Scholarly interests include policy advocacy and social justice.

    Ed Byrnes, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Senior Hall 316
    Phone: 509.359.2294
    Email: ebyrnes@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Associate Professor, BASW Program Director. MSW and PhD University of Utah. Scholarly interests include juvenile and criminal justice, social justice, and program evaluation.

    Stacey Chay

    Lecturer, Director of the MSW Hybrid Program
    668 N. Riverpoint Blvd, Phase One, Room 221
    Phone: (509) 828-1406
    Email: schay@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Stacey Chay joined the EWU School of Social Work in Fall 2011 as a Faculty Field Instructor. She is now the Program Director for the Part-time MSW Hybrid program. She received her MSW from the Eastern Washington University. Her practice interests include: behavioral health and addictions, international social work, suicide assessment, management and treatment, law and ethics and policy.

    Mary Ann Clute, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Senior Hall 216
    Phone: 509.359.2377
    Email: mclute@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Associate Professor. MSW Eastern Washington University, PhD Mandel School of Social Sciences at Case Western Reserve University. Scholarly interests include hospice care and grief and loss.

    Grace Creasman

    Lecturer, Director of the Addiction Studies Program.
    ROB 425
    Phone: (509)-359-2356
    Email: gcreasman@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    MSW Eastern Washington University, MA Adult Education. Scholarly interests include addiction studies and online learning.

    Thomas Crofoot

    Associate Professor
    EWU: Senior Hall 318 | Clark College: BHL 127
    Phone: EWU: 509.359.4586
    Email: tcrofoot@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Associate Professor. MSW Portland State University, PhD University of Washington. Scholarly interests include mental health and substance abuse, American Indian and Alaskan Native children and families.

    Carl Duman

    Lecturer, CWTAP Faculty Field Instructor
    Dept of Children and Family Services | Vancouver, WA
    Phone: 360.993.7983
    Email: duca300@dshs.wa.gov
    Curriculum Vitae
    MSW Portland State University. Scholarly interests include child welfare and clinical social work practice.

    Timothy Hilton, PhD

    Associate Professor
    Senior Hall 216
    Phone: 509.359.6832
    Email: thilton@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    MSW and PhD University of Chicago.  Research interests include: homelessness and poverty, employment and low-wage work, and organizational theory.

    Jodi Kerbs

    Lecturer, Vancouver Part-time MSW & BASE Program Director.
    EWU at Clark College
    Phone: 360.992.2082
    Email: jkerbs@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    MSW and PhD Portland State University. Scholarly interests include juvenile justice, children and family services, mental health and disabilities.

    Rie Kobayashi

    Assistant Professor
    Senior Hall 222
    Phone: 509.359.6480
    Email: rkobayashi@ewu.edu
    MSW and PhD Michigan State University. Scholarly interests include interdisciplinary collaborations and social work in healthcare settings.

    Haley Lake

    Lecturer, Addiction Studies.
    122 SNR
    Phone: (509)-359-6914
    Email: hlake@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    BS and MS Eastern Washington University.  Scholarly interests include coexisting behavioral & mental health disorders and addictions. She holds a Certificate in online course development from the University of Wisconsin.

    Vernon Loke

    Assistant Professor
    Senior Hall 208
    Phone: 509.359.4564
    Email: vloke@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    M Soc Sci (Social Work) National University of Singapore, PhD George Warren Brown School of Social Work at Washington University. Scholarly interests include asset building and economic empowerment of disadvantaged populations, and program evaluation.

    Romel Mackelprang

    Professor, Director of Disability Studies
    Senior Hall 233
    Phone: 509.359.6484
    Email: rmackelprang@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    MSW and DSW University of Utah. Scholarly interests include disability studies and international social work.

    Cynthia Nover, PhD, LCSW

    Assistant Professor
    Senior Hall 216
    Phone: 509.359.7488
    Email: cnover@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Nover, Cynthia, Assistant Professor. MSW, California State University, Sacramento, PhD, University of Utah. Scholarly interests include: health care, health disparities, chronic illness and behavioral health.

     

    Lisa Parise

    Senior lecturer, Director of Field Education and Training
    Senior Hall 112
    Phone: 509.359.6477
    Email: lparise@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    MSW University of Washington. Scholarly interests include child welfare.

    Diana Patterson

    Director of Child Welfare Training and Advancement Program (CWTAP).
    EWU-CWTAP 2000 Tower St. M/S 45 | Everett, WA 98201
    Phone: 425.405.1624
    Email: dpatterson@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    MSW University of Washington. Scholarly interests include child welfare and intimate partner violence.

    Martha Raske

    Professor, Director & Chair.
    210 Senior Hall
    Phone: (509)-359-4567
    Email: mraske@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    MSW and PhD University of Illinois at Chicago. Scholarly interests include social welfare and mental health policy, consumer perspective of social work services, and leadership.

    Amanda Reedy

    Assistant Professor
    Senior Hall 324
    Phone: 509.359.6486
    Email: areedy@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    MSW and PhD The University of Iowa. Scholarly interests include co-existing disorders and veterans and their families.

    Kim Stansbury, PhD

    Assistant Professor, Hartford Scholar.
    Senior Hall 332
    Phone: 509.359.4538
    Email: kstansbury@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    MSW Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, PhD University of Kentucky. Scholarly interests include gerontology, gambling addictions and cultural diversity.

    Bob Stirling

    Senior Lecturer, Child Welfare Training and Advancement Program Faculty Field Instructor
    1313 N. Atlantic, Suite 2000, Spokane, WA 99201
    Phone: 509.363.4629
    Email: rstirling@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    MSW Eastern Washington University. Scholarly interests include engaging fathers in the child welfare system.

    Deborah Svoboda

    Assistant Professor
    326 SNR
    Phone: (509)-359-6470
    Email: dsvoboda@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae
    MSW Rutgers University, PhD University of Maryland. Scholarly interests include domestic violence and organizations with a social justice focus.

    Chris Williams

    Lecturer & Everett MSW Director
    Gray Wolf Hall 206 - Everett
    Phone: 425) 405-1629
    Email: cwilliams40@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Lecturer. MSW Eastern Washington University. Scholarly interests focus on child welfare and child safety in state regulated care.

    Contact Information

    Diane Somerday, Coordinator of Student Services
    208 Senior Hall Office 123
    Cheney, WA 99004

    email: dsomerday@ewu.edu
    phone: 509.359.6482
    fax: 509-359-6475

    Footer Navigation


    Text Only Options

    View the original version of this page.