Skip to content

Faculty & Staff

Abstract

Our mission is accomplished by educating students who are professionally and academically prepared and dedicated to addressing the wellness of a diverse society in a variety of environments. We are commited to enhancing quality of life through the promotion of wellness.

Top Navigation

Main Navigation

  • EWU Home
  • CALE Home
  • Programs of Study
  • Physical Education, Health and Recreation
  • Faculty & Staff
  • Main Content

     

    Garth Babcock, PhD, ATC

    Clinical Coordinator, Athletic Training Education Program
    PEC 237
    Phone: 509.359.2427
    Email: gbabcock@ewu.edu

    Academic Information
    • 2000 PhD Adapted Physical Education - Texas Woman's University
    • 1992 MS Exercise Science and Sports Medicine - Brigham Young University
    • 1990 BS Physical Education - Brigham Young University

    Professional Background/Areas of Interest
    Babcock joined the Eastern Washington University faculty in the fall of 1998 as the Athletic Training Education Program (ATEP) director. He, with the help and support of the faculty and staff of the ATEP, was able to move the program to become accredited by the commission on accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs in October of 2002.

    Babcock currently serves as the Research, Foundations and Grants Committee representative for the Washington State Athletic Trainers Association and on the Critical Issues Committee for the Adapted Physical Activity Council of the American Alliance of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance. His research interests are in the area of injury statistics in disability sport and performance enhancements in special populations. He served as a volunteer athletic trainer for the 1996 Paralympics Games in Atlanta, Ga.

    Susan Beam

    Secretary Senior
    PEC 200
    Phone: 509.359.2341
    Email: sbeam@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Christi Brewer, PhD, CSCS

    Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
    PEC 244
    Phone: 509-359-2485
    Email: cbrewer7@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

    Barbara Brock, EdD

    Emeritus Faculty - Retired June 2013
    Email: bbrock@ewu.edu

    Academic Information
    • BS, Graceland College
    • MA, University of Iowa
    • EdD, Indiana University

    Matthew Chase, PhD

    Co-Chair, Physical Education, Health and Recreation Department; Program Director, Recreation Management
    PEC 249
    Phone: 509.359.7964
    Email: mchase@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Academic Information
    • BS, Oregon State University
    • MS, University of Oregon
    • PhD, Gonzaga University

    Christopher Cindric, MA

    Progam Director, EWU Challenge Course; Lecturer
    PEC 236
    Phone: 509.359.4535
    Email: ccindric@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Academic Information
    • BA, Radford University
    • MA, University of Colorado, Denver

    Professional Background/Areas of Interest
    • Outdoor Recreation, Experiential Education

    Alan Coelho, EdD

    Co-Chair, Physical Education, Health and Recreation Department
    PEC 251
    Phone: 509.359.4328
    Email: acoelho@ewu.edu

    Academic Information
    • BA, Exercse Science - Fresno State
    • MA, Exercise Science - Fresno State
    • EdD, Kinesiology (specializing in mechanical/anatomical) - University of Northern Colorado

    John Cogley, EdD

    Emeritus Faculty - Retired June 2011
    Phone: 509.993.7430
    Email: jcogley@ewu.edu

    Academic Information
    • BA, Iowa State University
    • MA, University of Iowa
    • EdD, University of Northern Colorado

    Paul Green, EdD

    Program Director, Outdoor Recreation
    PEC 235
    Phone: 509.359.7097
    Email: pgreen@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Academic Information
    • BA, Eastern Washington University
    • MA, University of Northern Colorado
    • EdD, University of Oregon

    Jon Hammermeister, PhD

    Professor, Physical Education, Health and Recreation
    PEC 231
    Phone: 509.359.7968
    Email: jhammermeist@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Academic Information
    • PhD, University of Idaho

    Professional Background/Areas of interest
    • Psychosocial aspects of sport, exercise and health

     


    Chadron Hazelbaker, ATC, CSCS, PhD

    Associate Professor, Sports Management Graduate Program, Graduate Program Director
    PEC 243
    Phone: 509.359.4539
    Email: chazelbaker@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

    Professional Background /Areas of interest

    Natalie Hughs, MS

    Leave of Absence 2014-15 Academic Year (Lecturer)
    PEC 242
    Phone: 509-359-7069
    Email: nhughs37@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

    Carri Kreider, EdD

    Assistant Professor - Health and Fitness
    PEC 239
    Phone: 509.359.4707
    Email: ckreider@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

    Professional Background/Areas of Interest:

    Nate Lawton, MS, CSCS

    Emergency Response Coordinator
    PEC 228
    Phone: 509.359.2508
    Email: nlawton@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

    Professional Background /Areas of interest:

    Exercise Science Internship Packet Instructions

    Colleen Mastel

    Program Support Supervisor
    PEC 252
    Phone: 509.359.7961
    Email: cmastel@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Jeni McNeal, PhD

    Professor of Physical Education, Health and Recreation
    PEC 250
    Phone: 509.359.2872
    Email: Jeni_McNeal@hotmail.com
    Curriculum Vitae

    Academic Information
    • 1993 BS, Physical Education - Eastern Washington University
    • 1996 MS, Exercise and Sport Science - University of Utah
    • 2000 PhD, Exercise and Sport Science, minor statistics and research methods, emphasis pediatric physiology -  University of Utah

    Professional Background/Areas of Interest:
    McNeal's research is primarily focused on performance analysis and enhancement in elite and talent-selected athletes. She currently is the lead strength and conditioning consultant for the USA Diving National Team, and is the vice-chair of research for the US Elite Coaches Association for Women's Gymnastics. Recent research interests have included vibration-assisted stretching, potentiation training, and strength and power assessment. In her spare time, she prefers to be in the outdoors, training and competing in adventure racing, or working on her collection of handstand photos taken in front of famous monuments. 

    Inlander Article(June 7, 2012):  We can see Injuries Before They Happen

     

    Exercise Science Internship Packet Instructions

    Scott Melville, PhD

    Emeritus Faculty - Retired June 2012
    Email: smelville@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

    Professional Background/Areas of Interest: 

    Emily Messina, PhD, CTRS

    Program Director, Therapeutic Recreation
    PEC 233
    Phone: 509.359.6545
    Email: emessina@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

    Laurie Morley, EdD

    Program Director, Health and Fitness
    PEC 245
    Phone: 509.359.2312
    Email: lmorley@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

    Professional Background/Areas of Interests:

    Sarah E. Mount, Ed.D.

    Program Director, Community Health
    PEC 241
    Phone: 509.359.4308
    Email: smount2@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

     

    Jacob Rehm, MS

    Director, URC Fitness Center
    URC 211B
    Phone: 509.359.4017
    Email: jrehm@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

    Professional Background/Areas of Interest:

     

    Wendy Repovich, PhD, FACSM

    Program Director, Exercise Science
    PEC 247
    Phone: 509.359.7960
    Email: wrepovich@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

    Dr. Repovich joined the department in 1991, as the Exercise Science Program director. She is a fellow of the American College of Sports Medicine and is actively involved in the Northwest regional chapter. She has presented research on the local, regional, national and international level. Current research interest area is body composition and its relationship to the immune system. 

     

    Exercise Science Internship Packet Instructions

    Penny Rose

    Operations Manager
    PEC 248
    Phone: 509.359.7969
    Email: prose@ewu.edu
    Curriculum Vitae

    Callie Spencer Schultz, Ph.D.

    Adjunct Instructor
    PEC 240
    Phone: 509.359.2486
    Email: cspencer3@ewu.edu
    Academic Information

    Jeremy Schultz, PhD

    Assistant Professor, Recreation Management
    PEC 232
    Phone: 509-359-6040
    Email: jschultz4@ewu.edu

    Academic Information

    Annika Vyakhk, MS

    Lecturer
    PEC 242
    Phone: 509.359.7069

    Contact Information

    Department of Physical Education, Health and Recreation
    200 PEB
    Cheney, WA 99004

    email: sbeam@ewu.edu
    phone: 509.359.2341
    fax: 509.359.4833

    Footer Navigation


    Text Only Options

    View the original version of this page.